NEW IN HISTORICAL FICTION

The Soviet Sisters

By ANIKA SCOTT

INTRODUCING

The Soviet Sisters

Releasing July 12, 2022!

From the bestselling author of The German Heiress, Anika Scott, comes a gripping new historical novel filled with secrets, lies, and betrayals, following two spy sisters in the years after WWII, perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Praise for The Soviet Sisters

“Anika Scott pens a fascinating tale of secrets, surveillance, and sisterhood set against the burgeoning Cold War. Two very different sisters come to shattered postwar Berlin—KGB doyenne Vera, fanatically committed to Stalin’s vision, and interpreter Marya, embroiled in an affair with a British officer—and are pitted against each other in an espionage plot that will see one sister elevated and the other exiled in disgrace. But who is the real traitor, and who is hiding the biggest secret of all? The Soviet Sisters will suck you in to the very last page!”
— Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Diamond Eye
The Soviet Sisters takes you on a journey of twisting espionage, unexpected betrayal, and the internal war between sisterhood and patriotism. Anika Scott has a gift for weaving incredibly researched historical detail into an emotionally powerful story that left me with tears in my eyes. Historical fiction fans will love this book!”
—Madeline Martin, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Bookshop in London
“Electrifying, meticulously researched, and expertly plotted, The Soviet Sisters is at once a Cold War thriller, a gripping spy story, a page-turning mystery, and a familial drama.”
— Lara Prescott, New York Times bestselling author of The Secrets We Kept
“What a page-turner! The era and setting were very fresh, I learnt so much, and I loved being taken around post-war Berlin. East and West, love and hate—this story gives beautiful insight into the opposites that can make or break a sisters’ bond. Compelling.”
— Mandy Robotham, USA Today bestselling author of The Berlin Girl and The Girl Behind the Wall
 “This is a masterful, brilliantly plotted novel. I was gripped from the first pages, never knowing which of the sisters’ first-person narratives to trust or what would happen next. Cleverly playing on concepts of truth, ideology, and loyalty, the characters in The Soviet Sisters are put to ultimate tests of morality. Immaculately researched and eloquently written, Scott’s novel provides the reader a very clear sense of the tension and political complexity of a tumultuous time. I thoroughly enjoyed it.”
— Louise Fein, internationally bestselling author of The Hidden Child
“Tantalising and moving. The Soviet Sisters twists, contorts and interweaves the lives, loves and betrayals of two sisters forced to pit family and love against duty and truth.  Epic in scope, forensic in detail this is a beguiling and riveting story.”
–Georgia Kaufmann, author of The Dressmaker of Paris
“One sister faces West, with an open mind and an open heart.  The other faces East, armed with ambition, ideology, and an agenda.  One sister ruthlessly trapped and manipulated by the other.  It’s a compelling read, and Anika Scott does a terrific job portraying the war, and the edginess that was post-war Berlin as the Iron Curtain lowered.”
–Mara Timon, author of City of Spies
“Set in a fascinating era of change in post-war Europe, The Soviet Sisters is a thrilling spy novel with many twists and surprises. It is also a beautifully nuanced portrait of sibling love and rivalry.”
— Zoe Somerville, author of The Marsh House
“Beautifully atmospheric – at once an intricate portrayal of the ties that bind, and a tense and timely portrayal of truth.”
–Freya Berry, author of The Dictator’s Wife
“Scott (The German Heiress, 2020) paints a world of “moving shadows and listening ears,” rife with secrets, spies, and forbidden loves. The isolation of Communist Russia from the West, the policing of people’s minds and hearts, and the shifting sands of Russia’s political landscape play key roles. Fans of Kate Quinn will be sure to enjoy the strong female characters in this historical spy novel.”
Tessa Terry, Booklist